You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.


Attorney General Jeff Landry Defends Religious Liberties that Joe Biden Abandoned

BATON ROUGE, LA - Attorney General Jeff Landry has joined Louisiana to a coalition of 12 states standing in the gap against erosion of religious liberties.

In December, the United States Department of Labor issued a rule to protect religious belief, practice, and expression in the federal contracting process. Upon the transition of power, the Biden Administration refused to defend the rule from legal attacks – prompting Attorney General Landry to join last night’s intervention in NY v. DOL.

"Religious liberty is a foundational American principle," said Attorney General Landry. "I have always worked to protect this fundamental right, and I will not stand by as the Biden Administration refuses to defend it."

In 1965, President Lyndon B. Johnson enacted nondiscrimination requirements on federal government contractors and subcontractors. In 2002, President George W. Bush amended them to exempt religious organizations from some of the nondiscrimination requirements. However, neither explained how to determine whether an organization qualified for the exemption.

As stated in today’s filing, the rule makes "clear that religious organizations are not disfavored in government contracting and they need not decide between following their religion and contacting with the federal government." The filing goes on to say: "Without intervention, there will be no party in this litigation to defend the challenged regulation."

"This rule provides needed clarity to Louisiana entities that vie for contracts with the federal government," added Attorney General Landry. "While Joe Biden may not believe religious liberties are worth his Administration’s time, my colleagues and I will continue to fight for this indispensable American value."

The intervention was filed in the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York by Alabama, Louisiana, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Indiana, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, South Carolina, Texas, and West Virginia.