LOUISIANA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Post Office Box 986 Eunice, LA 70535 devillierp@legis.la.gov Office: 337.457.0194 Fax: 337.457.5649



Committee Assignments:

Civil Law and Procedure Natural Resources and Environment

PHILLIP DEVILLIER State Representative - District 41

May 31, 2020

Governor John Bel Edwards Post Office Box 94004 Baon Rouge, Louisiana 70804

Dear Governor Edwards,

For months, Louisiana has come together to help make our State safer during the COVID-19 pandemic. We have flattened the curve and slowed the spread of the coronavirus.

These public health efforts have certainly saved lives, but they have come at a great cost to our economy. The unemployment rate is sky-high and ever soaring; and despite historic federal measures of financial stimulation, thousands of our neighbors have lost their small businesses or jobs forever.

It is imperative we re-open our State and unleash the entrepreneurial spirit of Louisiana's hardworking people. In order to do so, we must not further handicap our job creators and their employees by enacting separate and confusing rules for different industries.

So we write you today to request all of Louisiana's workforce fall under the same regulatory scheme. Bars should not be treated differently than restaurants; massage therapy clinics should not be treated differently than other cosmetology salons; and mom and pop stores should not be treated differently than big box retailers.

The piecemeal method picks winners and losers, crippling small businesses and forcing too many into bankruptcy or closure. We should not allow some businesses to thrive and prosper while killing the American Dreams for others.

Business owners not only have a vested interest in keeping their customers and employees safe, but they also have the knowledge and experience to ensure that happens. We encourage you to change from an onerous and confounding approach with arbitrary occupancy percentage limits to a course that allows all Louisiana businesses to restart at the same level playing field. Doing so can help save our State's economy from further or permanent damage.

For Louisiana,

Representative **Phillip DeVillier** House District 41

Attorney General **Jeff Landry** State of Louisiana Blake Miguez, Chairman Louisiana House Republican Caucus

Sharon Hewitt, Chairwoman Louisiana Senate Republican Caucus

This letter has been joined in and signed individually by the following legislators: (see following pages)

Danny McCormick State Representative House District 1

Alan Seabaugh State Representative House District 5

Larry Bagley State Representative House District 7

Raymond Crews State Representative House District 8

Dodie Horton State Representative House District 9

Wayne McMahen State Representative House District 10

Jack McFarland State Representative House District 13

Michael Echols State Representative House District 14

Foy Gadberry State Representative House District 15

C. Travis Johnson State Representative House District 21

Gabe Firment State Representative House District 22 Rodney Schamerhorn State Representative House District 24

Lance Harris State Representative House District 25

Mike Johnson State Representative House District 27

Daryl Deshotel State Representative House District 28

Charles Owen State Representative House District 30

Jonathan Goudeau State Representative House District 31

Dewith Carrier State Representative House District 32

Les Farnum State Representative House District 33

Stephen Dwight State Representative House District 35

Phillip Tarver State Representative House District 36

Troy Romero State Representative House District 37 Rhonda Butler State Representative House District 38

Julie Emerson State Representative House District 39

John Stefanski State Representative House District 42

State Representative House District 43

Jean-Paul Coussan State Representative House District 45

Mike Huval State Representative House District 46

Ryan Bourriaque State Representative House District 47

Beau Beaullieu State Representative House District 48

Beryl Amedee State Representative House District 51

Jerome "Zee" Zeringue State Representative House District 52

Tanner Magee State Representative House District 53 Brian Fontenot State Representative House District 55

Tony Bacala State Representative House District 59

Rick Edmonds State Representative House District 66

Paula Davis State Representative House District 69

Larry Frieman State Representative House District 74

Robert "Bob" Owen State Representative House District 76

Mark Wright State Representative House District 77

Debbie Villio State Representative House District 79

Polly Thomas State Representative House District 80

Kathy Edmonston State Representative House District 88

Richard Nelson State Representative House District 89 Sherman Mack State Representative House District 95

Ray Garofalo State Representative House District 103

Cameron Henry State Senator Senate District 9

Patrick McMath State Senator Senate District 11

Mike Fesi State Senator Senate District 20

Bob Hensgens State Senator Senate District 26

Heather Cloud State Senator Senate District 28

Mike Reese State Senator Senate District 30

Glen Womack State Senator Senate District 32

State Senator Senate District 33

Robert Mills State Senator Senate District 36 Barrow Peacock State Senator Senate District 37

Barry Milligan State Senator Senate District 38